Guides: Artificial Intelligence: Home

Researching AI Terminology and Keywords

These keywords and topics can be searched on the library databases and on Google for sources outside the library. As always, make sure to vet your sources

Chatbots (or "bots")	Cognitive science	Machine learning
Inductive reasoning	Natural Language Processing (NLP)	Image recognition (or "computer vision")
Neural networks	Deep learning	Biogenic emissions
Supervised learning	Semantic analysis	Algorithm
Unsupervised learning	Cluster	Data mining
Artificial Neural Networks (ANN)	Heuristics	Turing test
Artificial Intelligence (AI)	Weights	Pruning
Case-Based Reasoning (CBR)	Weak AI	Strong AI

Electronic Resources for AI

Computer Science (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database also includes periodicals and journals with information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
SciTech Premium Collection
Full-text titles from Science and Technology journals, reports, magazines, and more
Gale Power Search
Quickly search all available Gale databases!
Information Science (Gale OneFile)
Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Find articles on current social issues from sources such as books, statistical reports, and news publications. This source includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.
NewsBank (Access World News)

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.

Print Books Available for Checkout

Organizations and Websites

Check out these organizations from all over the world who are working with AI.

American College of Radiology Data Science Institute
Working with stakeholders to develop and implement radiology-related artificial intelligence applications.
American Medical Informatics Association
A professional organization interested in the intersection of informatics and healthcare.
Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence
A nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines.
Canadian Artificial Intelligence Association
The Canadian arm of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence.