Statement of Values
"Recognising the importance of diversity, belonging and equity is not enough. This book has the practical guidance needed to think differently and make true inclusion a reality. Edited by Stephen Frost, a leading voice in the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) space, this book is a must-have for all those who know that achieving inclusion at work is important but don't know where to start. It covers how to be more inclusive as an individual by changing your mindset and building your cultural intelligence as well as how to develop more inclusive teams by adapting management practice and environments whatever the size or structure of your business. The Key to Inclusion also provides tools, strategies and advice on inclusion at an organizational level through inclusive strategy, leadership, governance, data, systems and processes. Supported by real-world examples, interviews and case studies from BBC, the UK National Health Service (NHS), AstraZeneca and LinkedIn, this book looks beyond inclusion in the present to examine inclusion in the future and particularly in tech, financial services and TV. With chapters from a diverse group of expert voices, this book is crucial reading for all HR professionals and business leaders who are looking to deliver true inclusion as individuals, in their teams, in their organizations and communities"-- Provided by publisher
With this volume's model programs to guide them, academic libraries and their staff can successfully strengthen their own DEI initiatives. "This book offers thought-provoking ideas and actionable advice from librarians who have implemented replicable and scalable initiatives that have helped their institutions understand and address issues surrounding the concepts of diversity, equity, and inclusion"-- Provided by publisher
"This book provides practical guidance for managers, leaders, diversity officers, educators, and students to achieve the benefits of diversity by focusing on creating meaningful, inclusive interactions. Implementing inclusive interaction practices, along with accountability practices, enhances performance outcomes for the organization and improves equity for members of historically underrepresented and marginalized groups. The book highlights the need to challenge existing approaches that have overemphasized representational-that is, numerical-diversity. For many decades the focus has been on this important first step of increasing the numbers of underrepresented groups. However, moving beyond representation towards a truly inclusive organizational culture that produces real performance and equity has been elusive. This book moves the focus from achieving numerical diversity to achieving frequent, high quality, equitable, and productive interactions that enable individuals to leverage their distinctive talents, and provides the steps to do so. The benefits of this approach occur at the individual, workgroup and organizational levels. Real-life examples of good inclusive practices are provided from across the for-profit, nonprofit and governmental sectors and in various organizational contexts. The book is ideal not only for those charged with diversity, equity and inclusion efforts in organizations, but also for organizational leaders and managers who can create and/or support the implementing of inclusive organizational practices and also for postgraduate and undergraduate students studying human resource management, organizational behavior, management, or diversity, equity and inclusion"-- Provided by publisher.
"Low ticket sales, an aging audience, a shrinking donor base, rising costs - opera is in crisis. Moreover, there is a stifling lack of diversity among opera executives with over 90% of US opera's executives identifying as White. Opera in Australia, Canada, and the U. K. reveals similar problems. What if an inability to recruit and retain diverse executives is a key source of opera's challenges? If more diverse opera executives existed would the art form overcome its struggle to appeal to contemporary society? Given that diversity is often the key to unlocking innovation, what solutions to opera's challenges might emerge from more diverse executives? This is the first research book to investigate the careers of diverse executives and identify factors that advanced or impeded their careers. By examining the barriers, opportunities, strategies and experiences in the careers of executive opera managers of color in the U. S., it interrogates the impact of social identities on arts managers' careers and explores how opera might attract and retain more diverse arts managers to ensure its future. It will also serve to inspire Arts Management students who may view their class, disability, ethnicity, gender, or sexual orientation as a liability in their pursuit of executive careers in Arts Management"-- Provided by publisher.
This book offers provocations for what's now and what's next in educational leadership, simultaneously bringing the field both back to its basics--of equity, democracy, humanity, and education for all--and forward to productive, innovative, and necessary possibilities. Written during the pandemic reality of 2020, this collection shares the global voices and expertise of prominent and emerging leaders, scholars, and practitioners in education from the UK, the United States, South America, Canada, Europe, Australia, and the Middle East. The authors engage with the complexities and uncertainties of leading in education. They examine research, reflections, and real stories from which school leaders, education system leaders, policymakers, and researchers in the field of educational leadership, can learn, and in which they will find honesty, authority, and inspiration to guide the future of the field. The new perspectives and hopeful alternatives presented in this outstanding book are essential to researchers, school leaders, and policymakers, and are key to advancing education into positive and democratic futures.
"This book fulfills a need for academics and researchers to provide some veritable measures for evaluating the multicultural, plural, and monolithic organizations, where diversity, equity, and inclusion have been embraced"-- Provided by publisher
"This volume provides educators with an understanding of challenges associated with equity and inclusion at higher education institutions globally and with evidence-based strategies for addressing the challenges associated with implementing equity and inclusion. Higher education institutions continue to address an increasingly complex set of issues regarding equity, diversity and inclusion; many face increasing pressure to find innovative solutions for eliminating access and participation barriers and mitigating practices that impede access, persistence, retention, and graduation rates in higher education. Using comparative international perspectives, this volume looks at how different nations and cultures experience power, privilege, identity, and inclusion with respect to participation in tertiary education, with a specific focus on gender identities"--Publisher's description
"This book investigates the bias, stereotyping, and repression experienced by women within STEM-based career fields. It emphasizes the struggle felt by women within politics, education systems, business environments, STEM careers, as well as issues with advocacy and leadership"-- Provided by publisher.
"This book covers the fields of Marketing, Ethics, and Diversity to provide the resources necessary for researchers, managers, and policy makers for insight into consumption practices, diversity, inclusion, limitations, and their theoretical and practical implications"-- Provided by publisher.
"This book includes research on the obstacles organizations, such as schools and companies, that struggle with diversity, equity, and inclusion of other cultures overcome and the benefits they receive from training on these matters"-- Provided by publisher.
"This edited book highlights research on a variety of business topics such as diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging (DEIB), change management, collaborative leadership, DEIB leadership, organizational development, organizational leadership, strategic management, shared leadership, and stakeholder development"-- Provided by publisher.
