Skip to Main Content

About: Library Services

Information on the history of M. P. Baker Library and available services.

The mission of the M.P. Baker Library of Panola College is to be an academic Learning Resource Center for the students and faculty of the College. The LRC staff strives to offer resources and services, when and where they are needed, to enhance the development of the whole student, and to offer opportunities for students to become lifelong learners.

Library Hours

7:30 am - 5:00 pm

7:30 am - 5:00 pm

7:30 am - 5:00 pm

7:30 am - 5:00 pm

7:30 am - 12:30 pm

The Library follows the Panola College holiday schedule, as well as bad weather days.  If the college is closed the library is closed.  Please call the main library number: 903-693-1162 before coming out if you are unsure if the library is open.

The time between semester, non-holiday times, the library will maintain an office hours posture:

M-TH 7:30am - 5:00pm

F 7:30 am - 12:30pm

Closed Saturday and Sunday.

Library Contact Information

Main/Circulation Desk

903-693-2052

Information Desk

903-693-1162

You may also text the library during open hours: 903-225-2322

 

We are located at the heart of the Panola College campus.

1109 W. Panola

Carthage, Texas 75633

Mr. Dale Saenz - Director of Library Services

Dr. Martha López Coleman - Electronic Resources Librarian

Ms. Faith Parrott - Part Time Library Assistant

Ms. Emily Pemble - Part Time Library Assistant

Ms. Monica Thompson - Day Circulation Clerk/Secretary

(You may click on a name to send a direct email.)

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

M. P. Baker Library does offer access to InterLibrary Loan (ILL) services.

Please use this form to make a request: ILL Request Form

For more information on ILL, please click here.

Tutoring - Upswing

Panola College's online tutoring: UPSWING!

Our goal is to provide free, confidential, and convenient academic support to Panola College students in an online environment. We exist to help students achieve academic independence. Tutoring is done either with Panola College personnel or an Upswing Coach.  Don't delay, make an appointment today!

FREE!  AVAILABLE ON YOUR SCHEDULE!  24/7!

You can even submit your papers to feedback!

All Subjects Databases

Academic Search Complete

Multi-subject, full-text database. Also contains abstracts and indices. 1887-present.

Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.).

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)

Having a clear, compelling point of view on today’s most debated political and social issues requires finding the most credible facts and insights. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints simplifies your search by bringing together thousands of resources to provide authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics. 

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Multi-subject, open access database of articles.

College (Gale In Context)

Access a wide array of multidisciplinary content by searching scholarly journals, newspapers, periodicals, images, and videos.

Student Database Log-In Information

Citation Guides

The Librarians are always ready to help you find and cite resources. 

Drop by the library or chat us via the Ask PC! chatbox.

Click the link below to access the Citation Guide.

Study Spaces

Study Spaces include the tables and chairs located throughout the library which will seat from 4-6 students. The library offers 31 pods for quiet study; 12 singular and 3 duo pods on the first floor, 16 singular pods on the 2nd floor. There are also 7 study rooms available; 4 study rooms which seat from 4-6 students and 3 study rooms which include collaboration stations that will accommodate 6-14 students. Students are also welcome to use the 16 computers located upstairs in the open lab.

Study pods are first-come first served and do not have a time limit on their use.  Study rooms can be reserved but if no one is using them you are welcome to use them.  Study rooms have a 2 hr use limit, strictly enforced during mid-terms and finals.

Click on the link below to reserve a study room.

Tutoring - In Person

Laptops and Hotspots

M. P. Baker provides laptops and hotspots for current students on an "as available" basis.

Students will receive an email at the beginning of each semester with a link to an equipment reservation form.

Please, keep in mind each semester, we receive more request than we have equipment.  You will have 7 days from the time you make the request to pick up your laptop after that it will be assigned to the next person in line.

All equipment is due by the last day of the semester.

HOTSPOTS will no longer available as of Dec 15, 2023.  Please plan ahead for Spring 2024.

Printing @ Panola

Panola College provides multiple access points for printing.  Panola College no longer supports WEPA printing.  The new DataMax system is active.  Please click link below for more information.

 

3D Printing @ Panola

 

M. P. Baker provides access to a 3D printer, located on the 2nd floor of the library. 

There is a small cost associated with this service. 

Please click below for more information.

 

M.P. Baker Support Team